Shacharit and weight training. Finding creative ways to daven.

I have generally believed in the concept of mind, body and spirit; and when the three are connected life is pretty good. This year I have been challenged around the concept of prayer. My main problem was, how to fit it in, so I didn’t. It bothered me that I did not have a spiritual practice. After a discussion with my spiritual director she reminded me that I do indeed have a spiritual practice.

My main spiritual practice has always been fitness: lifting weights, biking, running, walking, etc. I lift weights at least four times a week and bike to school almost everyday. This is my spiritual practice. With that said it started to become more important to me to incorporate traditional davening into my life.

Today, I incorporated Shacharit into my weight training routine and I have said modeh ani, the morning blessings and the Shema while biking to school. By incorporating prayer into my fitness routine I can make time; time to thank God, and time for self reflection. Like many people in today’s society, I have a crazy busy schedule and it is hard to find time for traditional davenning. By incorporating prayer into my fitness routine I can make time.

Today, Jews need to find creative ways to pray. We need to be freed from our traditional concepts of connecting with the Divine. The harder we make prayer for people, then they won’t do it. I’m curious to know what other people do? How do you fit it in? Have you also found creative ways to pray and connect with the Divine?

One thought on “Shacharit and weight training. Finding creative ways to daven.

  1. Great question! Prayer must be in the air – it’s on my mind lately, and both today’s and tomorrow’s entires on my blog are about it.
    I make a little time for it every day. Without it, I would go crazy. I don’t have small children anymore, which helps with morning prayers. At night I pray before I go to sleep – bedtime Shma.
    Often I pray sitting in my car, which is certainly not traditional, but it is a quiet space where I can focus inward. I try to cultivate thinking of “behind the wheel” as sacred space, since (1) I spend a lot of time there and (2) when the car is moving, people’s lives are in my hands. So I guess it makes sense to pray in the car.
    Still, in an ideal world, I’d pray daily with a minyan. I guess it’s good to have something to strive for!

Leave a Reply

