Life Changes

Tonight is my last night as a non rabbinical student.  It’s really hard to say what I feel about this because I have wanted it for so long.  I also feel like I paid a heavy price for wanting to become a rabbi, and that price was the end of a partnership. This may come as a surprise to many of you, or maybe not, but rabbinical schools have a policy of not admitting candidates that have non Jewish partners.  The policy is unfair on so many levels but queer students and Jews of color have a different burden.

Ideally it would be great to have a Jewish partner, but when I think of some of the experiences I have had in Jewish spaces relating to race, having a Jewish partner seems unlikely.  I felt like my choices are meet a black  jew or choose not to date and not to partner.

Anyway it’s getting late and I don’t want to ramble on or continue on this soapbox. Just keep in mind that there are real people affected by these policies. Tomorrow, I start my new journey, and that is to fulfill my dream and become a rabbi someday and tomorrow the dream begins.

One thought on “Life Changes

  1. thank you for sharing your experiences, sandra. i hope that you will soon experience blessings of love and light on this next path forward. much love from out west. lisa

Leave a Reply

