Genesis 1:29 and our Food

I have created a new title for myself, Food Activist.  I wish I could say that I coined the phrase, but I did not.  I heard it this morning on NPR and the title was used to refer to Michael Pollan.  With my ever growing interest in whole plant food and educating people about good wholesome unprocessed food.  It has had me thinking about the Torah (Bible) and what the Torah says about food.  Primarily in Genesis 1:29, where I believe that the initial intention was for us to be vegetarian:

“And God said: ‘Behold, I have given you every herb yielding seed, which is upon the face of all the earth, and every tree, in which is the fruit of a tree yielding seed–to you it shall be for food.

Later permission was given for people to eat meat (Genesis 9:2-5).  Why? No one really knows, maybe it’s as simple as this: the world was flooded and destroyed and there was no more vegetation left and the only food sources would have been the animals on the ark and whatever food Noah and his family brought on the ark.

But I have an even larger question, what does it mean for us as a society that we have become so consumed with meat and cheap meat at that, that we do not care about the treatment of animals, the labors, or how food gets to our plate?

Please share any thoughts on this subject.

Leave a Reply

